New Name, Old Me

I AM ELLI! HEAR ME ROAR!

Two and a half years ago, I decided to show the outside-looking-in that I was a band instead of an artist because I was terrified that if I showed up as ‘Elli Hart’, no one would be interested in what I had to say, a.k.a. listen to my songs.   

I’ve spent this last year seriously grappling back and forth between giving up my dreams of rock stardom, or pulling up my sleeves and digging in with all the tenacity and drive I could muster.  I was tempted with a “great” job that had a steady paycheck, benefits, and was affiliated with music, only to realize that I was incredibly stressed out and not at all happy.

I let myself get discouraged and intimidated which isn’t like me at all.

In February, everything changed.

I was forced to take the month off and it was a blessing in disguise.  I FINALLY feel like myself again. I left that “great job” and I’ve been incredibly inspired and am picking up right where I left off.

Nothing makes me happier in this world than standing on stage and ripping it on my guitar and singing my lyrics to an audience of badass humans.  

That’s you guys! Seriously – thank you so much for all the support you’ve given me over the past few years.

When I look back, I’m really proud of what I’ve accomplished.  I’ve played some seriously cool stages, from intimate festivals like @tinylights to massive mainstages like Sunfest Country Music Festival.  I’ve opened for Arkells in front of 50,000 people on Canada’s 150th birthday, (I actually burst into tears the moment I got off stage ‘cause holy intense!), as well as warmed up the mainstages at festivals opening for Eric Church and Little Big Town.  

In the winter of 2017, I bought and converted an old Astro van into a house-on-wheels and drove by myself down to Nashville for three months to learn how the pro’s write songs.  After only a few weeks of arriving, I was featured on Nashville’s Lighting 100 radio station as their songwriter of the week, performed at the famous Bluebird Cafe, and was invited to perform a song at The Listening Room.

It’s been an amazing journey so far.  And while I may have called myself Dirty Mountain on paper, I’ve been me the whole way through.  It’s time to embrace who I am and step forward as Elli Hart. But don’t worry, “Dirty Mountain” ain’t gettin’ the boot.  When I perform with my band, I’ll be billed as ‘Elli Hart & The Dirty Mountain”. When I perform solo, just “Elli Hart”.

Seems like a great compromise to me.

Until next time,

Elli

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started